Kriya Yoga

Kriya Yoga – Yogic Path to Be Free of the Chains of Karma

Everything in this universe is in a state of perpetual action. From the Sun, the moon, the Earth to the smallest atoms, everything moves with a certain purpose. This is the same for your body. Every system in your body moves to perform a specific function. It helps you experience the world a little better. This is the essence of Kriya yoga for you.

Confused? Don't be. Yoga experts have come up with a guide to help you understand everything there is about Kriya yoga. Come! Let us start.

What is Kriya Yoga?

The word Kriya in Sanskrit language has two different parts. The first part is Kri meaning “Karma or Action”. The second part Ya means “Soul”. In total, Kriya yoga translates to union with the divine through action of your soul.

The Karma in Kriya refers to purificatory action. This clears any obstacles creating a hindrance in your yoga practice. In other words, Kriya yoga cleanses your physical, mental, and spiritual systems. This helps you get free of the bondage of Karma.

Daily practice of Kriya yoga helps you realize the ultimate truth. This is why Kriya yoga also goes by the name of “process of action”. The purpose of this yoga style is to cleanse your body, mind, and spirit. This helps you attain the higher spiritual goal of Absolute Consciousness.

This yoga style prepares you to receive greater knowledge. It rids you of the unnecessary fragments of your body and mind.

Do you know about the rich history behind this yoga style? The information below will provide you everything there is to know.

History of Kriya Yoga

The Kriya yoga is a yoga style with focus on your physical, mental, and spiritual growth. Mahavtar Babaji Maharaj brought forward its scientific form 1861 through Sri Shyama Charan Lahiri Mahasaya, his disciple.

Later Swami Sri Sri Yukteshwar Giri and other disciples of Sri Shyama Lahiri Mahasaya acquired this knowledge. Two disciples of Sri Sri Yukteshwar Giri, Paramahansa Yogananda and Paramahansa Hariharananda acquired the knowledge of Kriya yoga. Paramahansa Yogananda spread the knowledge of this yoga style during his journey to the United States.

In short, the Guru-Disciple relationship popularized Kriya yoga in India. The first guru gave its knowledge to their students and it spread from there. It is how this tradition of Kriya yoga got its popularity.

Babaji Maharaj discussed the many methods of Kriya yoga style. There are many Pranayama techniques to help a yogi connect with God.

Paramahansa Yogananda in his book Autobiography of a Yogi shared how Kriya yoga influences an individual on a subtle level. He states that half minute of Kriya yoga equals one year of spiritual unfoldment.

After Paramahansa Yogananda, Haricharananda became the next teacher of Kriya yoga till 2002. After his death, Paramahansa Pajnanananda has taken this yogic tradition forward.

But, practicing Kriya yoga is no cakewalk. There is a lengthy procedure for you to follow.

Also Read:- Yoga Beginner's Guide To Slow Flow Yoga

Different Kriya Yoga Stages

Given below are 6 different stages you pass during Kriya yoga practice.

Stage One

In the first stage you practice the technique of Kriya Pranayama. Here you combine the energies of Prana and Apana. The flow of sacred life force is blocked from the Ida and Pingala Nadi. Practicing this Pranayama technique helps you attain equilibrium and directs the life force to the Sushumna Nadi. Join a certified yoga school to learn this yoga technique from experienced yoga teachers.

Stage Two

During this stage of Kriya yoga practice you work on all the 7 chakras in the subtle body. You pay more attention to the Heart chakra. There is more pressure of life force on each chakra as you have progressed from Kriya Pranayama.

Stage Three

In this stage you focus on the Heart chakra. This is the place where your immortal self resides. The Kriya yoga experts state that focusing on this stage a bit longer is all you need to get free of the bondage of Karma.

Stage Four

After activating the Heart chakra you now focus on the other chakras. For example, you can focus on the Muladhara chakra to expand your awareness. You are in a breathless state in this stage of Kriya yoga as all the breathing is internal.

Stage Five

Now you shift the attention towards the energy flowing towards the Muladhara chakra. This is a stage where you have experiences that are beyond words.

Stage Six

This is the final stage of Kriya yoga style. It happens with the opening of your spinal cord. In the sixth stage you experience the true reality. You go beyond the sense of time and space and attain Asamprajnata Samadhi.


Want to get free of the bondage of Karma? Enroll in a certified yoga school to learn Kriya yoga under the guidance of experienced yoga teachers.

Read More:- Beginner's Guide To Kripalu Yoga