Best Poses of Yoga for Height

A Beginners’ Guide to Three Primary Yoga Nadis

Every small and big life experience changes your body and mind. Hence, finding a perfect balance in this flux is very difficult. Experienced yoga practitioners know that to process the acquired information, you should know how Yoga Nadis work. Thus, to facilitate newbie yoga practitioners, we have structured a short guide about Yoga Nadis.

By the time you are done reading, you’ll have sound knowledge about the three primary Yoga Nadis. Let’s explore more about them. Read on.

What are Yoga Nadis?

Nadi can be loosely translated to ‘flow’ or ‘tube’ in Sanskrit. Hence, Yoga Nadis represents the channel of tubes present inside the human body. These Nadis are responsible for the easy flow of energy from different energy centers to the entire body.

However, Yoga Nadis are present in the subtle human body. Once you are enlightened, you get easy access to various Yoga Nadis.

How Yoga Nadis Relate to Different Chakras

Chakras are the energy points present in the subtle human body. These are not tangible like a network of nerves. Rather, it is a point in the subtle body where a huge chunk of energy gets accumulated.

Yoga Nadis and yoga chakras share the same space. The only difference being that the yoga Nadis covers the entire body. On the other hand, yoga chakras are centered in a single place. Thus, yoga chakras are the epicenter of infinite energy.

Check out the 7 yoga charkas that give you abundant energy for everyday tasks.

  • Root Chakra
  • Sacral Chakra
  • Solar Plexus Chakra
  • Heart Chakra
  • Throat Chakra
  • Third Eye Chakra
  • Crown Chakra

14 Major Yoga Nadis

In general, there are 72000 yoga Nadis. However, it is not humanly possible to keep the count of every little Yoga Nadi. Hence, there are the 14 major yoga Nadis that pass through your subtle body that you should know about.

  1. Alambusha Nadi
  2. Gandhari Nadi
  3. Hastijivha Nadi
  4. Ida Nadi
  5. Kuhu Nadi
  6. Payaswini Nadi
  7. Pingala Nadi
  8. Pusha Nadi
  9. Saraswati Nadi
  10. Sankhini Nadi
  11. Sushumna Nadi
  12. Varuna Nadi
  13. Vishvodhara Nadi
  14. Yashaswini Nadi

Out of the above-mentioned 14 essential yoga Nadis, there are 3 primary yoga Nadis that play the most significant role in your overall well-being.

Also Read:- What Is Yoga Alliance Certification

Three Primary Yoga Nadis


Also known as the passive left channel, the energy passing through the Ida Nadi is feminine in character. Further, the Ida Nadi is located to the left of the Sushumna Nadi. It originates from the base of the spine and is mixed with the Pingala Nadi at the Third Eye chakra.

The color mapping for the Ida Nadi is white. Furthermore, it is linked to the Moon energy. Hence, Ida Nadi’s dominance leads to a cool, caring, and intuitive nature.


Also known as the active right channel, the Pingala Nadi is masculine in nature. Linked with the Sun energy, its dominance leads to a heated character. The Pingala nadi is located to the right side of the Sushumna nadi. Further, it finally merges into the Ida nadi at the Third Eye Chakra.

The red color represents the Pingala nadi. Moreover, its dominance leads to creative and upfront minds. However, Pingala Nadi’s energy lacks empathy and self-awareness.


The neutral and central energy flows through the Sushumna. Moreover, it is also called the central energy channel. Originating from the base of your spine, it meets the Ida and Pingala Nadi at the Crown chakra. It shows the perfect balance in both the Nadis and energies.

Hence, the Sushumna Nadi has both the characteristics of Ida and Pingala Nadis. When you have a perfect balance in all the three yoga Nadis, it raises your vibrations and awareness.

How to Activate Primary Yoga Nadis

To activate the yoga Nadis, you need to first purify them. For that matter, you should practice Swara yoga or Swara Sadhana. Furthermore, you need to include various breathing exercises into your routine.

Over time, it leads to a perfect balance in various yoga Nadis. Once the equilibrium is achieved, the purification of smaller as well as bigger yoga Nadis facilitates the easiest flow of energy through your body.


Yoga Nadis play a major role in the perfect functioning of your body. Hence, make sure you include various purification techniques into your routine. Over time, you become a pious soul with a mindful psyche.

Read More:- Yoga For Height